Don’t try to be happy. We’re programmed to be dissatisfied

Posted: August 21, 2016 in Fun, Health, Humour, Is It Me?, Life, Society, Work

Don’t try to be happy. We’re programmed to be dissatisfied

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/aug/17/psychology-happiness-contentment-humans-aspire-goals-accomplish-evolution?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_WordPress

A long time ago I was given by colleagues as a present a mug coaster with ‘Grumpy Old Git’ on it. I took it in the mickey take it was intended … and yes before you say, it was intended that way 😀

Anyway, I fully recognise my tendency to approach some … well alright! most things :D… in what many describe as in a ‘glass half empty’ context.
As many who know me, I prefer the alternative ‘realist’ and/or ‘pragmatic’ because I find trying to be totally upbeat and positive as not only a tiresome waste of energy but also in my humble opinion pretty much impossible to achieve. This is I might add is a lot different of convincing oneself you are happy and most things have a positive stance to it.
This is a personal attitude of this concept. I don’t look upon anyone else with, or trying to achieve, such a state of ‘self utopia’ as anything but just a person doing their best to get through life in a way that’s good for them … and if it spreads a bit of sunshine to others around them then that’s a bonus. 
It’s a bit like religion really in that if it works for you and you consider it makes you happy then I give my best wishes to you. 
My ‘realist’ attitude could be claimed as a self defence mechanism by some. If that’s the case, then in the example of a plane crash, I’d rather come down safely on the runway with no undercarriage and a controlled bellyflop than the less chance of survival of partial nosedive crash because the pilot was optimistic the wheels were down to connect to the tarmac.
So it appears my stance on this isn’t so negative as some others think as this article I have posted with this missive shows #justathought

Leave a Reply

